When the game stops being fun

As anyone who has been following me on twitter knows I’ve been caught in the midst of guild drama. Being the only female class lead and only hardcore raider minded female officer (there is 1 other female officer, but she’s more of an officer by length of time in the guild than anything else) in a somewhat Boy’s Club guild is proving to be more of a challenge than I expected. Being ignored on vent, totally passed over for any input on strats/tweaking of fights for progression/overall input is starting to drain me. My desire to raid is gone and I am spending less and less time on my priest and trying to find excuses to be on other characters more and more.

So what’s a girl to do when WoW stops being fun? Hide in a friend’s vent server with non-drama buddies and roll alts of course! So I present to you the screenshots from my weekend of shirking officer responsibilities:

Yet another priest ;)

Yet another priest 😉

Space Goat Shaman!

Space Goat Shaman!

I Choose You Space Goat Priest! (because who knew the Draenei were Pokemon fans?!)

I Choose You Space Goat Priest! (because who knew the Draenei were Pokemon fans?!)

Our 4 man, at level RFC clearing. We're so leet.

Our 4 man, at level RFC clearing. We're so leet.

Aaaaandd my pally got her wings!!

maybe she's had too much redbull? ;)

maybe she's had too much redbull? 😉

Here’s to remembering why I play this game, and learning that even though I’m an officer, I am not bound to one character, especially if I am not being treated with the respect I deserve simply because I am a girl.

4 Responses

  1. Yay space goat priests!

  2. Good on you for taking some time out to rediscover your attraction to the game. 🙂

  3. Have you thought about simply coming clean with your fellow officers about whats up? It’s a good test to see if your abilities and skills are being appreciated. If not, that’s a clear tell it might be time to start looking around.

    • I spoke with our GM about it, and told him that I wasn’t happy and felt that the exclusion lay in my being female. He insisted that was not the case, but still just gives me the verbal equivalent of a pat on the head when I try to suggest a tweak in vent or in officer chat during raid. The search has begun, but I’m thinking it might lead to a server transfer that I really don’t want, as there’s not a whole lot of progression oriented guilds on my server that don’t required 40 hour weeks of raiding.

Leave a Reply

